Help > English > Administrator > Manage a Site > Collaborate SOAP to REST migration

Collaborate SOAP to REST migration

Description

In the following months, Collaborate Ultra is EOLing their SOAP API. Due to this decision, the Open LMS team has been working hand in hand with the Collaborate Ultra team to successfully migrate customers from the SOAP API to their REST API.

This migration process will now be found within the mod_collaborate plugin settings and requires a manual action of the client: to click the new migration button that will only appear to those that require migration.

The Collaborate plugin needs to be updated to the latest version ”2021060102” for the migration to be available.

Initial mandatory configuration

In the corresponding Moodle environment, in config.php, it is necessary to add the below flags:

$CFG->forced_plugin_settings['collaborate']['logrange'] = 3;
$CFG->mod_collaborate_show_migration_button = true;
$CFG->mod_collaborate_alternative_counter = true;

The first flag forces the plugin to log every action, the second one shows the migration button, and the third one enables the alternative counter for Collaborate recordings, which is optional for regular REST users, but mandatory for migrated users.

After setting the flags, within the Collaborate settings page (Site Administration > Plugins > Activity modules > Collaborate Ultra), the Logging setting should automatically be set to “All”. If not, please change it manually.

Migration button flag

The migration button is controlled by a CFG flag, which will display the migration button when set to true. The main ad-hoc task should be queued after clicking the migration button.

CFG Flag:

$CFG->mod_collaborate_show_migration_button = true;
The button will appear

$CFG->mod_collaborate_show_migration_button = false;
The button will not appear

Please keep into account, that for phase 1, the migration button has an additional validation and will only appear to those customers that have active SOAP credentials.

Please keep in mind that for the correct migration of credentials, sessions, recordings, and the number of recording views, the flags from the initial configuration are needed.

Migration credentials and sessions

The objective of the migration is to provide the customer with new REST API credentials and the migration of all sessions and recordings previously generated with the SOAP API. This process is automatic and will need no further action from the admin.

Once the process is complete, the admin user will see their new REST API credentials generated in the Collaborate plugin settings. They will also be able to access migrated sessions and recordings.

Old SOAP recordings will not have the functionality of download count, as it was not part of SOAP’s original functionalities.

Migration process

We recommend that the migration process be done during the night or when the platform has little use since the task can take from a couple of seconds to several minutes. During this timeframe, the mod_collaborate plugin users will not be able to create new sessions or modify any existing Collaborate sessions.

The team developed different messages to alert the user of the migration progress. This message will appear under the migration button and will be showing the current status.

There might be a scenario where the migration was completed but, due to possible discrepancies in the information, some sessions were not migrated. A message will appear confirming the migration but stating the discrepancies. This message will disappear after a month.

Phase 1 – Migrating clients with only SOAP credentials

For phase 1, the migration button will only appear for customers that have active SOAP credentials. If they have REST credentials or both, the button will not show.

Clients that have both SOAP and REST credentials currently, will need to migrate in Phase 2, but this still needs development, in order to migrate current SOAP sessions to existing REST API credentials.

Users who only have REST credentials do not need to take any further action. They will not see the migration button.